Olive Oil, Lemon & Parmesan Asparagus

two-loves-studio-asparagus1I love asparagus and whilst I was doing some ‘research’ on Pinterest during the week, a fellow pinner was pinning all things asparagus and I developed a bit of a craving for it! So I picked up a generous handful when I was at the market and managed to find a farmer who was selling large, thick, individual stalks, (I like to be able to choose my own!). I cooked these little beauties and took a few snaps before digging in.

two-loves-studio-asparagus2

They were so succulent with that perfect amount of crunch that I ate the whole lot and dinner was only about an hour away. So good! I kept the bottom of the stalks on for the photo as I loved the colour and feeling it gives – like its just been pulled out of the ground. I cut if off before I ate it though. If you like your asparagus a little crunchy like I do, find a bunch that has thick stalks.

two-loves-studio-asparagus3Olive Oil, Lemon & Parmesan Asparagus

Ingredients

1 fresh bunch of asparagus
1 tablespoon hot water
Olive Oil
1 lemon, halved
1/4 cup parmesan, grated
Salt and pepper

Directions

Preheat the oven to 200 C (400 F). Wash and trim the bottoms of the asparagus. Place the asparagus in a baking tray and pour over the asparagus a tablespoon of hot water (this helps it to not let them dry out). Bake in the oven for 10 mins.

Remove from the oven and arrange on a serving plate. Drizzle a decent amount of olive oil over the asparagus Jamie Oliver style, (as much as you fancy and then some more). Squeeze both halves of the lemon over the asparagus, sprinkle with parmesan cheese and salt and pepper to taste.

19 thoughts on “Olive Oil, Lemon & Parmesan Asparagus

    • 😀 I never even thought about the green and blue clashing! I guess because the light was just right that it made them work. I think the white baking paper helps to allow segregation between the colours. I absolutely love the lens I use. My 60mm Nikkor Micro – not your typical food photography lens but it works for me 🙂

  1. I have just started reading your blog and just love your photo’s. I have an online business selling British made blankets and do the photography myself for my site. Any tips would be gratefully received – what camera do you use and any suggestions for getting blankets looking fab and good enough to touch?

    • Hi Victoria – thanks for stopping by. I will send you an email answering some of your questions and I will have a look at your site. I (hopefully) have some time today otherwise sometime soon – I have tonnes on my plate at the moment which is great 🙂

  2. Pingback: Stripped Asparagus Salad / The Best Wine to remember for life | Eat with Namie

  3. Pingback: Asparagus Fit for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner « Brooklyn Locavore

  4. Pingback: 35 Tasty Side Dish Recipes | Dollar Store Mom Frugal Fun – Crafts for Kids

  5. Pingback: Stripped Asparagus Noodles / Best Wine to remember for life, Château Mirebeau | Eatwithmeİstanbul

Leave a comment