Lettuce Cups with Spiced Corn, Danish Feta & Hard Boiled Eggs

psw_DSC3797This delightful dish was the result of three things; a craving for sang choi bow, trying to use what we had in the fridge and a desire to make lettuce cups look – well damn good!

Not only did the ingredients in the recipe come from what I had in the fridge, but what I knew would work well to both the taste buds and the eye. I think I hit the nail on the head and succeeded in making lettuce cups a new star at the dinner table. This is such a great meal on a hot day and it was enough to fill Matt and I up for dinner.

psw_DSC3803This was another shoot that I did to photograph my dinner in a short space of time. I must say that being hungry is not a motivator to ‘get that shot’. It is more a hindrance as my patience often goes out the window. But this particular time I was living in the moment and everything just fell into place nicely, the shapes were pleasing and the light was on my side. To me, this was one of those times where I hit it out of the park. I had an idea, and it came to life just as I imagined it and just as quickly. Believe it or not, I often come up with something different to what I envisioned. Not a bad thing, but I love to be able to execute what I am seeing in my head with such ease.
psw_DSC3804This recipe is as easy as boiling an egg and is all fresh ingredients with no additives, preservatives or nasties. I think it would be a fun one for the kids to eat too. I don’t have kids, but this dish certainly entertains the kid in me!
psw_DSC3808Lettuce Cups with Spiced Corn, Feta & Hard Boiled Eggs
Ingredients

 

2/3 cup chopped cucumber
2/3 cup chopped danish feta (fresh from the deli)
2/3 cup fresh corn kernels
3 scallions, diced
1 handful of fresh basil leaves
2 thick slices of fresh ginger, 2cm (1″) thick
2 small cloves of garlic
1 tablespoon grapeseed oil (you can use olive oil too)
3 -4 eggs
bunch baby romaine lettuce, washed
1 lemon, cut into wedges
Salt and pepper to
taste

Directions

Put the basil, ginger and garlic into the food processed and process until finely chopped. (Use a little grapeseed oil if the mixture needs a hand in the food processor).

In a bowl, place the cucumber, feta, corn, scallions and the herb mixture. Add the oil, salt and pepper and combine. Set aside.

Place your eggs in a saucepan of water and boil for three minutes until hard boiled (Or use your favourite technique to make hard boiled eggs).

Whilst the eggs are boiling, separate the lettuce leaves carefully and place in on a plate. When the eggs are boiled, peel and slice them. Place the plate with the lettuce, the eggs, filling and lemon wedges on a tray and serve at the table for you guests to serve themselves!

10 thoughts on “Lettuce Cups with Spiced Corn, Danish Feta & Hard Boiled Eggs

  1. Pingback: Hard Boiled Egg Recipe Ideas - Where Women Cook

  2. Pingback: Chicken Caesar Lettuce Wraps | Good Life Eats

  3. Pingback: If you want your eggs to smile..... - Countlan Magazine

  4. Pingback: 20 Amazing Hard-Boiled Egg Recipes | Endlessly Inspired

  5. Pingback: 40 Amazing Egg Recipes No One Can Miss

  6. Pingback: 40 เมนูอาหารสุดบรรเจิดจาก ‘ไข่’ ที่ทุกคนไม่ควรพลาด!! | NaiBann.com

Leave a comment