Kiwi & Pear Salad with an Orange Dijon Vinaigrette

two-loves-studio-kiwi-pear-salad-(5-of-8)w

It is on my list of yearly goals that I want to incorporate more vegetarian meals into my weekly diet, and not just any vegetarian meals, but healthy and scrumptious ones. I have been hooked by Jamie Oliver’s new show, Save with Jamie and have been soaking up a lot of tips from him both on the show and in the book. Last Friday I decided to make a spring salad and take advantage of the lovely two days weather we had here in Melbourne. This Spring has seen a real eclectic range of weather, so every warm and sunny day needs to be celebrated, and mostly with a beer on a sunny patio.

The light coming through my apartment windows was so light and fresh, I just had to make a salad to match its beauty. Light fruity flavours, a colourful dressing and a little bite of taste and colour from the baby radishes. I was thrilled to see loose tatsoi lettuce being sold at the market. I love its dark colour and pattern on the leaves, it adds so much interest to the dish.

two-loves-studio-kiwi-pear-salad-(8-of-8)w

I really enjoy creating dishes from nothing, and gathering ingredients from the market to concoct something when I get back into the kitchen. Matt is amazed at my ability to create a dish when it was apparent that we had no food in the house! With this challenge sometimes comes failure and I’m ok with that, but I am looking for some inspiration for my vegetarian meals. I would love to hear what you are cooking and what your favourite meatless monday dish is! (I am also on the hunt for a good falafel recipe. I have ones where the taste is there, but the consistency is not).

two-loves-studio-kiwi-pear-salad-(4-of-8)w

Kiwi & Pear Salad with an Orange Dijon Vinaigrette

Serves 4 as a side salad or a light lunch

Ingredients

Salad

1 large pear, thinly sliced
2 kiwi fruits, thinly sliced
1 bunch baby radishes, whole (if large, cut into quarters)
Generous handful of mixed lettuce
Handful of tatsoi lettuce
Handful of watercress
Lemon wedges to serve (optional)

Vinaigrette

1 tablespoon orange juice
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
1 tablespoon white wine vinegar
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
Freshly ground pepper to taste

Directions

To make the vinaigrette, add all the ingredients in a small jar and ground a generous amount of pepper into the jar. Shake vigourously. If the oil hasn’t incorporated, add some more ground pepper and shake again. Set aside.

In a large bowl, add the mixed lettuce, tatsoi lettuce and watercress and use your hands to mix it all together. Place the lettuce on a large platter, then arrange the sliced kiwi fruit, sliced pear and baby radishes over the lettuce. Serve with lemon wedges and the vinaigrette on the side.

13 thoughts on “Kiwi & Pear Salad with an Orange Dijon Vinaigrette

  1. I found your blog through Dinner for (n)one and I am so very glad I did! Your photography is simply stunning — this salad looks so incredibly vibrant and refreshing (and I bet it tastes that way too!) Thanks for posting, and I’m excited to keep reading!

  2. thank you Rachel jane! what an absolutely delightful blog … glad I found you with your amazing photography and lovely, mainly healthy recipes and great ideas … love it m:)

  3. What fantastic pics, Rachel Jane. I wonder whether you would like to add this to the kiwi recipe collection just being got together over at Carole’s Chatter? Cheers

  4. Pingback: Kiwi- one of the tastiest, and healthiest fruits | For Women

Leave a Reply

