Homemade White Chocolate Thins

two-loves-studio-white-chocolate-thins-(2-of-5)w

During this week I came across a receipe on chocolate covered katie for making your own white chocolate at home, with little or no sugar. After a little research on where to buy cacao butter near me, I thought I would give it a try. Turns out that it is not hard at all and can be sweetened to your taste. It wasn’t too far off the creamy nature of chocolate, not the same, but fun to make at home.

two-loves-studio-white-chocolate-thins-(4-of-5)wOnce the chocolate was set, I was ready with a knife to break the slab into shattered peices. It was fun to see the chocolate break into pieces to create the shapes you can see in my first image, (gosh I am such a nerd). This was my main reason behind this post and recipe. Once I was finished with the photos, I broke the slab into squares and stored them in a jar, for snacks or to go on top of ice-cream.

two-loves-studio-white-chocolate-thins-(5-of-5)w

two-loves-studio-white-chocolate-thins-(3-of-5)w

Homemade White Chocolate Thins

Ingredients

120g cacao butter, chopped
1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 tablespoons of powered milk, (any milk powder will do, rice, soy, almond or regular milk. To keep the chocolate white, use a powder that is also white.)
1/3 cup shredded coconut
Handful of pistachios, chopped
Handful of goji berries, chopped
1 teaspoon of orange zest

1-4 tablespoons of powered sugar or stevia to taste if desired

Directions

Using a water bath method, place the cacao butter in a bowl above simmering water. Stir the cacao butter occasionally until melted. Remove from heat.

Add vanilla extract, powered milk, coconut and sugar/stevia if desired and stir until combined. Spoon half the mixture onto a small lined tray or into a chocolate mould. Scatter half of the pistachios and goji berries over the chocolate. Spoon out the remainder of the chocolate and top with the rest of the goji berries and pistachios. Zest about 1 teaspoon of orange rind over the chocolate.

Let set in the fridge for at least an hour. When hard, break the pieces up with a knife. Store in an airtight container for snacks or on top of desserts.

14 thoughts on “Homemade White Chocolate Thins

  1. I always learn something new in your posts! I have never heard the name “goji berries”… Of course I googled it. The pictures are great, as always.

    • Lol. I’m a new to these health foods as well. When I shop at our local health food store, I just give the staff a list of what I need cause I feel so out of my depth in there. I’m learning as well.

  2. This is a great post! I’ve never seen homemade white chocolate before, but it seems relatively simple. Love the colours you’ve used for both flavour and decoration (I am an equal nerd!). Making this soon! Thanks Rachel Jane xx

    • Thanks, it’s funny how impromptu posts can be so successful! I really wanted to try this as I wanted the colours to really stand out. I was thinking if all else fails then I could use dark chocolate, but I knew it wasn’t going to be the same. Would love to know how you go.

  3. Hi. My name is Caroline. I love searching food blogs. I have a few favorites. My 5 kids (yes, 5) love what I find. I love two blogs, yours and another called “Cooking With Mr. C.” (on Facebook which also takes you to the blog) Between the two of you, I’m kept very busy. Keep up the wonderful work. It’s so appreciated.

    Caroline

  4. Pingback: my daily click 151113 | French Essence

  5. Pingback: 25 Holiday Snacks

Leave a Reply

