Meringues with Roasted Strawberry Sauce & Pistachios

two-loves-studio-meringue-w-(2-of-6)The last two weeks have been a busy as I work on an amazing recipe e-book which I am really excited to share with you all once it’s completed!

But before I started prepping, shopping and shooting for this project, I had a little time to play in my kitchen. I have been back to making ice cream this month as my little weekly sugar treat. I have been playing with recipes to find the perfect coconut ice cream. I am still hunting for it. As the recipe I am trying uses 4 egg yolks, I have had left over egg whites coming out of my ears. I decided to put them to good use, and make something I could photograph.

Meringues!

two-loves-studio-meringue-w(1-of-2)two-loves-studio-meringue-w(2-of-2)

Strawberries are in season, so I picked up 4 punnets for 4 bucks and roasted them to make a sauce to go over the meringues. Halved a few strawberries and sprinkled with pistachios! I know that some of you will think this is criminal, but I only took a bite! Way too sweet for my taste. I sure did eat the strawberries though! I also mixed the left over strawberry sauce with my vanilla ice cream.two-loves-studio-meringue-w(1-of-6)two-loves-studio-meringue-w-(5-of-6)

Meringues with Roasted Strawberry Sauce & Pistachios

Ingredients

4 eggs whites at room temperature
Pinch salt
1 cup caster sugar

3 cups fresh strawberries, halved
1 tablespoon of corn flour (corn starch)
Hand full of crumbled pistachios

Directions

Preheat the oven to 200 C (400 F). Place 1 1/2 cups of strawberries and corn flour in a bowl and toss to coat. Place strawberries on a baking tray and roast for 20 mins, until the juice is bubbling slightly. Blend strawberries until smooth and set aside to cool. Store in an air tight jar in the fridge until ready to use.

I used this meringue recipe.

Once meringues are ready, halve the rest of the strawberries, place the strawberries on the meringues, top with a spoonful of sauce and sprinkle with pistachios. Serve immediately.

11 thoughts on “Meringues with Roasted Strawberry Sauce & Pistachios

Leave a Reply

