Roasting Vine Ripened Tomatoes

two-loves-studio-tomatoes-w(1-of-4)

Spring was definitely in the air today as we say goodbye to the last week of winter. I went for a walk to the local market and the vine ripened tomatoes were just gorgeous. I picked up a dozen to go into Katie Quinn Davies’ Mick’s Pork & Red Wine Lasagne from her first book What Kaite Ate Recipes and Other Bits and Bobs.

After a quick rinse, I halved them, topped them with garlic and thyme and slow roasted them in the oven for 1.5 hours. Aroma throughout the house was divine. With the warm breeze coming through the window, it was a perfect afternoon.

The lasagne was not very photogenic, but gosh was it good! Best thing is that after a third helping, there is still enough for lunches for the next two days!

two-loves-studio-tomatoes (1 of 1)-6

7 thoughts on “Roasting Vine Ripened Tomatoes

  1. That sound so delicious that I can almost smell the aroma here! And I know what you mean, that some dishes are delish, but not necessarily photogenic! šŸ˜‰

    • They just looked so picturesque sitting next to the window light. I didn’t manage to get an even coat with the cheese sauce so it looked so patchy, but boy was it tasty. I really love Katie’s easy and tasty cheese sauces.

  2. I found you through Designed by M’s blog love roundup. So glad I did! Awesome photos. We have tomatoes exiting our ears and I will certainly be roasting some now. Do you by chance have a preferred long-term tomato storage method aside from canning?

    • Glad you stopped by! That is a great question, which sadly I won’t be of much help. I use preserving jars and freeze the tomatoes that I make into a sauce until I need them and am not sure if that is the best method. If you find something that works for you, i’d love to know!

Leave a Reply

