Roasted Strawberry & Yoghurt Breakfast Loaf

two-loves-studio-yoghurt-cake-1Once again Pinterest was the craving behind this recipe. A yoghurt cake? Well I had never really heard of that before, (and I hear you saying, ‘and she runs a food blog?’ ha), turns out it is a pretty sweet deal. The recipe I came across on Pinterest was from a Swedish blog and I could tell from the effort Google Translation did – the cake was not going to work out. So I searched basic quantities and ratios of yoghurt to flour and thought, ‘that can’t be too hard’. Lucky it wasn’t, as I was making it for the first time for a staff meeting early the next morning to a bunch of my favourite people who definitely appreciate good food.

As I was making this for a breakfast meeting, I wanted to make it into a breakfast loaf, instead of a cake. So I omitted the sugar, added some strawberries and granola then baked it in a loaf tin. It turned out well. It was so moist, and even three days later – I couldn’t believe I hadn’t made this before.

two-loves-studio-yoghurt-cake-3wtwo-loves-studio-yoghurt-cake-5wThis is the second time I have made it, with some adjustments and featuring it with blended roasted strawberries. It tastes great, but boy was it hard to photograph. The colour looked, well wrong – a pinky brown colour. Eeeek, it was translating to bland through my lens. I knew that powered sugar would make it look more appetising, but that wouldn’t be authentic to what I was trying to create. Luckily, shredded coconut saved it.

two-loves-studio-yoghurt-cake-6w

Roasted Strawberry & Yoghurt Breakfast Loaf

Serves 6

Ingredients

2 cups strawberries, hulled and halved
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 tablespoon freshly squeezed orange juice
1/2 cup grapeseed oil
1 egg
1/2 cup greek yoghurt
1 cup self-raising flour

Small handful of  toasted oats and coconut

Directions

Preheat the oven to 220 C (400 F). Place 1 cup of strawberries in a pan and roast for 20 mins. Remove strawberries from oven and place in a mixing bowl. Reduce the oven temperature to 170 C (340 F). Using an immersion blender, (blender or food processor), blend the strawberries until smooth. Add cinnamon, vanilla and orange juice and stir. Add oil and egg. Whisk until combined. Add yoghurt and stir until combined. Gently fold in the flour until combined, a little lumpy is ok.

Pour into a loaf tin lined with baking paper. Place the remainder of the strawberries on top and sprinkle over the toasted oats and coconut.

Bake in the oven for 40 – 45 minutes, or until cooked. Insert a toothpick and make sure it comes out clean. Allow to cool.

8 thoughts on “Roasted Strawberry & Yoghurt Breakfast Loaf

  1. this looks like me in a breakfast loaf – yumm! 🙂
    and your food photography is so so good! i just love it!

  2. Pingback: INTERIOR JUNKIE » Maandag Inspiratieboost

  3. Pingback: 25 Savory Breakfast Recipe Ideas - The Rebel Chick

  4. Hi there, can i sub the grapeseed oil for olive oil? or butter? let me know. Thanks! Oh and beautiful photos!:)

    • You can substitute the grapeseed oil for any other vegetable oil, even coconut oil but I would totally avoid oil olive as a substitute as the taste of the olive oil will be too overpowering. I used grapeseed oil as its flavour is so subtle, the other flavours in the recipe really have a chance to shine. If you really can’t use another vegetable oil then butter would be ok. The thing to be mindful using butter is that I am unsure if melted v solid butter will make a difference to the texture and baking time. I would use butter that is mostly melted but not completely running and the loaf might need a few extra minutes in the oven. Let me know how you go if you make the loaf with butter!

Leave a Reply

