Basil Infused Olive Oil

two-loves-studio-basil-oil-1w

Yesterday was the first time that I have had a chance to do some food photography in what feels like forever, when it has probably only been three weeks. During this time I had taken on a lot of work, three jobs at once, and some of this was photography is which I hardly classify as work, but I it did take me away from contributing to two loves. Cutting back on some work, I have found myself with three days this week to play and organise some exciting projects coming up. There is a magazine feature I am contributing to coming up, a cook book in the pipeline, and hopefully an e-book or two and some workshops I will be running! I have been busy.

A bit hard-pressed to work out what I should post about coming back into it, ( I always have about a million ideas when I am away from shooting that when I back to it, I just don’t know where to start!), Matt calmly pointed me to something perfect and simple that we had patiently waiting in the cupboard that we have been adoring over the last few months – basil oil, (He is so good to me. He always knows how to assist me).

At the start of the year we had a lot of basil and didn’t know what to do with it all. We ended up putting a bunch of it that was going a bit south into some oil and made basil infused olive oil. It is one of the most delightful things I have made with zero effort. We have been using it on a lot of dishes including pasta and Matt’s now famous potato mash which will be making an appearance later this week.

I just wanted to shout out to all my followers – to say hi and I do think of you all the time when I don’t have time to post. I have gained a lot of you recently and with my currently ‘life’ situation and Matt’s inability to work at the moment, I have my fingers in so many pies that two loves sometimes gets less of my love. But the good news is that there will be light at the end of the tunnel and I look forward to playing with you all much more!

two-loves-studio-basil-oil-2wBasil Infused Oil

Makes 500mls (2 cups)

Ingredients

2 cups good quality olive oil
Slice of lemon
1 large clove of garlic
Handful of torn basil leaves, (you can use the ones that are looking a little sad)

Directions

In a preserving or airtight jar, place oil, peeled garlic clove, lemon and basil and seal. Keep in a cool, dry place out of the sun for 4-6 weeks before serving.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Basil Infused Olive Oil

  1. I love simple ideas – with little or no work! I’ll have to try this one… Lovely and enticing pictures as always. Keeping my fingers crossed for the end of the tunnel, 🙂

  2. Pingback: Basil Oil & Gruyère Mash | Two Loves Studio

  3. This looks great! And I love the simplicity! How long does the oil keep once it’s done infusing? I’m thinking Christmas presents to all my foodie friends!

    • So simple and turned out as good one pre-bought ones I have tried. The oil will get to a stage where it won’t continue to infuse unless new leaves are in there. After a couple of weeks it should be right to go!

Leave a Reply

