Ice Cream Sundays

icecream-sundays-manifesto

Everyone loves ice-cream right? That’s why we have the saying, ‘you scream, I scream, we all scream for ice cream!’ and I am no exception. When Matt and I were setting up our new apartment we bought a mixer that came with an ice cream attachment.
So excited about being able to make homemade ice cream, I set out to do a little research on how ice cream making works. I went to my local library and within 5 minutes I found my new hero: Jeni Britton Bauer and her book Jeni’s Speldid Ice Creams At Home. With a simple explanation of the science behind ice cream making and 100 addictively good artisanal recipes, she has given me the knowledge to venture out and create my own unique and unusual ice cream flavours. With this book, an ice cream maker and of course a freezer, the world is my oyster!
I quickly borrowed the book, (and have renewed it so many times, that Santa gave it to me for Christmas!), and headed to a local cafe to soak up her ideas.That was 4 months ago now, and since then, Matt and I have been making our own ice cream on a leisurely Sunday a couple of times a month.
I was really inspired by Jeni’s approach to the art of ice cream making. She doesn’t see ice cream the way everyone else sees ice cream – she is viewing it from a completely different realm. This has allowed her to find that perfect texture and taste experience. One that you would not be used to. The elimination of egg from the recipe allows the dairy fat to melt instantly when it touches your tongue to release the delicate flavours she conjures in her ice cream. She only uses local and sustainable produce and seeks out flavours to bring all sorts of nostalgia to her fans.

Over the last few months I have been making a few of Jeni’s Signature Ice Creams along with a few of my own concoctions. I mostly end up eating it all as Matt is content with his ‘vanilla’. I have a few recipes and posts to share on this space and my plan was to get sharing in mid January. This was put on hold as the photos I took were entered into the Pink Lady Food Photographer of the Year competition and conditions of entry meant that I would not be able to share them as soon as I had liked!

I therefore decided to start this series with a recipe for Valentines Day – a great way to share my love of ice cream!

So far my favourite flavour from Jeni’s is (no surprise) Salted Caramel. What is your favourite ice cream flavour??

pstwKOR_2929

If you couldn’t tell, I love this book so much that I just had to get a photo with it – Thanks Korinek Photography.
Love Note: The books were not given to me nor are affiliated with Jenis. They were purchased by me and all opinions are my own.
4 thoughts on “Ice Cream Sundays

  1. “Withiut ice cream there would be darkness and chaos.” – Don Kardong

    I wholeheartedly agree! This is going to be a fun series, so I’m really looming forward to it! And I love the joy you’re displaying in the pic! Beautiful!

    • Darkness would creep in indeed. Playing with ice cream flavours is so much fun. I am glad that you can see joy in the pic, cause there is a fare bit of complaining when I style ice cream. Its hard work!

  2. This probably won’t come as a big surprise, but I like vanilla… most likely the same one that Matt likes 😉
    I also do like coffee (or Mocha flavour). The rest of the fam is MUCH more adventurous!

Leave a Reply

