Getting My Portfolio Underway!

One (of many) of my current goals is to put together a stellar portfolio! Over the past two weeks I have managed to dedicate some time to do just this. As to how ‘stellar’ these photos will be…well, not I’m not sure – but why not set the bar high!?
My editing in Lightroom has begun to get better over this short space of time also and I am thrilled to be putting the new “Two Loves Studio” watermarked logo on the prints as they are freshly exported onto my hard drive!
I have been pondering for months now about what concepts, food, recipes and styling I should use to convey not only my own sense of style but a range of dishes and themes. I am still no closer to knowing what I ‘should’ include, so I am just going to go with what feels right and dishes/themes I would like to conquer photographically!
Where am I getting my inspiration from? Many places, but my go to places are my “favourite three”!
Who are my “favourite three”? My three favourite food photographers of course!
Helen Dujardin – the woman who inspired me to take this journey. Helene is the creator of the award-winning blog Tartlette and whose work highlights her true passion for natural food styling and natural light photography.

Mowie Kay – a food photographer who has a uniquely and highly stylised look like no other. His work….well…does things to me. If ever I need cheering up, I head on over to his blog Mowielicious.

Beatrice Peltre – a freelance food writer and photographer, her images must be created in colour heaven. So bright, so clean and so happy. Her prints are for sale and showcased on her wonderful blog La Tartine Gourmande.
Aren’t these photos inspiring!? Do they move you like they do me?
I have a few posts ready to go to show you what I’ve been up to. Hope you can join me!
UPDATE!
A fellow blogger Kiki made a great point in her comment to this post. I really wanted to share her thoughts and my reply with you.
There is this idea that to be good at something you need to emulate the best. This can be true but it is a fine line. Kiki points this out:
“Pics from all 3 photographers are gorgeous. HOWEVER, I find that a lot of people nowadays aim to have their pics look like those of the Tartelette, La Tartine Gourmande, and Canelle & Vanille blog. The result? They all look the same, and you can’t tell who they’re from anymore. Personally, I love their pictures, but always like to see a more individual style in other people’s blogs and pics, something that sets them apart from the rest.”
What is important to take from this is that a persons individual style developing should be the focus and not to completely ‘match’ these artists work.
So where do you draw the line between gaining inspiration and learning techniques from copying the styles of others? Well that is up to you – but there are two sayings that I try to live by to make sure that I am “learning” from the best – but allowing my own style to emerge!
The first saying is from Sylvie Shirazi, Gourmande in the Kitchen, ” To become better photographers, we have to spend time looking at what other photographers are doing and learn from each other”. I take this combined with photographer Steve Simon’s idea that “It’s all been done before – do it better” to make sure my work is truly an extension of me – where ever I get my inspiration from!
***These photos can be found on each artist’s blog. They are the property of the artist and not of Two Loves Studio. They are here to showcase the artists talents and are not the work of Two Loves Studio.
11 thoughts on “Getting My Portfolio Underway!

  1. Pics from all 3 photographers are gorgeous. HOWEVER, I find that a lot of people nowadays aim to have their pics look like those of the Tartelette, La Tartine Gourmande, and Canelle & Vanille blog. The result? They all look the same, and you can’t tell who they’re from anymore. Personally, I love their pictures, but always like to see a more individual style in other people’s blogs and pics, something that sets them apart from the rest.

    • Yes I completely agree. There is a difference between ‘aiming’ and ‘learning’ from one another.

      There are a few sayings that I try to live by to make sure that I am learning from the best – but allowing my own style to emerge!

      Sylvie Shirazi from Gourmande in the Kitchen said ” To become better photographers, we have to spend time looking at what other photographers are doing and learn from each other “.

      This combined with photographer Steve Simon’s idea that ” It’s all been done before – do it better “.

      You make a really good point and if its ok with you, I might add this to the actual post! 😉

    • They are amazing aren’t they! I have a few more that I like but I relish these three. Do you have a favourite out of the three? I think (as hard as the decision is) it would have to be Mowie Kay for me 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing Rachel! I absolutely love Helen Dujardin’s images, each one has such a distinct feel & clear focal point. i notice you seemed have used inspiration from these in your recent strawberry tartlette shoot – but with your own flair 🙂

    • Thanks! Yes she is my hero… I had Bea’s style more in mind in this shot, because she loves to shoot outdoors in the grass, which is where I was although it is hard to tell in some of the photos. The shot with the sugar jar reminds me a lot of Helenes work. That shot wasn’t planned but turned out quite well!

Leave a Reply

