Testing Out A Few Lenses!

I have been privileged (some would say spoilt!) enough to have access to a high end professional lens and now that I have scraped together a few dollars, I am on the hunt for a lens I can call my own!
With a very limited budget I have been talking to a number of photographers about potential lens options. I was then fortunate enough to be able to borrow these lenses for a day to test them out!

The two lenses I was recommended to try were:

Tamron SP AF 90mm f/2.8 macro
Nikon AF-S DX 16-85 mm f/3.5-5.6

And was given a Nikon 28mm f/2.8 hand me down from my father to have as my very first lens! (It is nearly as old as me and still in great condition!)

I set up a table spread to try out the different lenses. Here is what they produced!Each photo was taken with the tripod in the same position. Two lenses were of fixed focal length (28mm and 90mm), and the other I tried a few different focal lengths. (Each were editing the same way).

I liked both the 16-85mm and the 90mm, but it is definitely a bonus to have macro in food photography and it is a very reasonable price when you are starting out!

What do you think? I recommend that if you can, try the lenses you are thinking of buying! It made my decision easier, especially being new to photography and not always understanding the basics!
One thought on “Testing Out A Few Lenses!

Leave a Reply

