A-Z Fruit and Veg Photo Project: B is for Broccolini

Broccolini is a mix between broccoli and kai-lan, or Chinese broccoli, and has longer stalks and smaller florets than its broccoli counterpart. Its delicate nature can enhance the presentation of any meal. I like it because it is a vegetable that you can eat with your fingers without being frowned upon!

The paper in this photos is a little distracting, but I wanted to convey a sense of ‘freshness’ – bursting out of the paper bag. Next time I will try to achieve this without the distracting nature of its height.

j

Green is my favourite colour and there is really something about the grey-green in the florets that I find special.

j

Once again, I had trouble deciding which photos to include. These photos, although they exhibit similar styling, highlight different elements of the vegetable, which evokes individual feelings.
As featured on Foodgawker: A is for Apple.
What is this all about?

xx

3 thoughts on “A-Z Fruit and Veg Photo Project: B is for Broccolini

  1. Man, Rachel, you are SO good at taking pics of food! I love the colors, the way you’ve laid the brocolini out, the use of the wood, paper, string, and even water! AND I love the fact that you have the same knife we do! lol

    It’s something, too, that you state that these photos “evoke individual feelings” – and yet it’s food, but how true! We are funny that way, aren’t we?

    • Well thank you! This particular shot went better than expected. Yes we are. Food has really changed in the last few decades. It’s really an art-form these days – and highly competitive at that.
      I am really trying to apply what I am learning, and I am glad you noticed all those elements!

Leave a Reply

