First things First – A Space to Work in! Getting started on food photography

The first thing that I needed to start this project was a space to work in.
Finding a space to work in can be challenging for a whole host of reasons!
Tiny living space, window configuration, furniture, kids, pets, renovations, life and stuff can all play a factor in finding a suitable space for your project. Serious photographers will have a separate room/studio with great light and a place to store all their gear – but this isn’t always realistic for those of us who are just starting out.
So what is important? TAKING PHOTOS is important. Therefore I say – work with what you have, make do so you can make a start!
What are the essentials? Here are three easy rules to use when searching for your space.
  • Light
    Photography is all about drawing with light and good light is essential for your working space. What sort of light am I talking about? Natural light. The light emitted from the sun that comes through your windows. There are SO many things to remember when you are new to food photography – so I prefer to leave playing around with artificial light until I am a little more savvy!

    Ideally, you will want a space that is between two windows.

  • Distractions
    Be in your zone. Some of the best photography work is done when you are in your ‘photographic zone’. Therefore you need a space that will be free from distractions whilst you are working. No Arrested Development in the background while you are working like I do!
  • Safety
    For yourself, those you live with and your camera equipment.
    Out of the way:
    To get your best images and push yourself, you need to be able to get around your subject. A table ‘in the way’ will not only annoy those you live with, but it could potentially be dangerous. It’s a good to leave a subject, (like a bowl of fruit), out for a few days to see how the light works in your space. You will therefore need it to be somewhere out of the way.
    Protect your gear:
    Regardless of your ability and the cost of your gear, no-one wants their camera and equipment to be damaged. Therefore setting up in a space where children and/or pets play is not ideal.

j

My space:
When I told those I lived with about my project, they could see how passionate I was. They offered me a space that incorporated all of the above and more! Whilst I do not have the space all to myself, one end of the room was more than I imagined I would have to start out with!

Better photographers than me have started out with less than this. Meaning – a space doesn’t make or break you. Just do your best and challenge yourself!

j

My distraction: Yoda, (my sister’s dog), wanted me to pay attention to him! Very cute.

xx

Leave a Reply

