Its All Been Done Before – So Do It Better: Old Fashioned Lemonade

Old Fashioned Lemonade
Since starting this project, I have read an array of photography books, from photography basics to tips, ideas and photographic activities all designed to harness your creativity and expression.
One concept that has clearly stood out in my mind and I apply every time I take photos was spoken by Steve Simon in his book – The Passionate Photographer:

Everything has been done before. Do it better.

He explains that there are very limited photographic ideas that has not been captured at some point in the past. This is not to say that you cannot come up with something totally new and unique, because you can, but it is not the be all and end all.
Put simply, he urges photographers to look at other people’s work and come up with something better! The word better in this context is used to describe the application of your own style and creativity.
I often scan other photographers work and note the things that I like and the things I want to replicate.

I came across a photo similar to the one above on the internet when I was researching projects involving water and fruit. I loved the idea and wanted to try to replicate the photo with the additional of my own style and creativity. Unfortunately, I have not been able to find the photo since to credit the artist.
Inspiration light bulb
I urge you to apply this simple quote to your photography work and see what you can come up with. I use Pinterest to organise the photographic works I would like to replicate in the future. Presently I am pinning images with balloons. Not sure how this will tie in with food photography yet, but I’m sure it will evolve into something great!
xx
If you are interested in Steve Simons book: The Passionate Photographer, you can read a review here.

8 thoughts on “Its All Been Done Before – So Do It Better: Old Fashioned Lemonade

  1. Pingback: Imagination Will Still Rule The World! | EssayBoard

  2. Pingback: Appetite for DiscoveryAppetite for Discovery | Paleo Cherry, Almond & Coconut Pies

Leave a comment